Purple Cocktail Dress

I’ve had this dress pretty much done for a few weeks. Finally just added the zipper in the other day (always something I like to put off…).

I’ve had this fabric for almost 5 years and I am glad it finally has been brought to life!

On this dress I tried out a new finishing technique I read about in a book my mom got me for Christmas. The book is entitled The Dressmaker’s Handbook of Couture Sewing Techniques by Lynda Maynard. I used her lining/binding technique for skirt panels on both the skirt and sleeves of the dress, thus fulling lining the dress!

Here is an image of the inside of the skirt…

Can’t wait to try out some more techniques she mentions!

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Purple Cocktail Dress

  1. Kim Egeland says:

    Oooo! Pretty!

    So glad the book is coming in handy. You did a lovely job on the skirt lining!

Leave a Reply

