Sewing with Vintage Butterick Pattern 8024 and Vintage Simplicity Pattern 3486

I’ve been collecting vintage sewing patterns from the 1940’s-60’s for the last few years.
I love the timeless beauty of mid century silhouettes.
Classic, clean lines that define the female body with subtle design details that give the garments a unique personality.

Here are a few items that I have recently made…

Simplicty Pattern 3486
I decided to make view 2.
Alteration I made:
The pattern called for the skirt pleats to be sewn on the outside, however, I felt the fabric I had chosen would look better if I kept them on the outside.
I also expanded the bust, waist and hips of the pattern since the size was one smaller than I needed.
Biggest challenge of the pattern:
Inserting a side zipper on a dress for the first time.

Butterick Pattern 8024

So far I have only made the skirt for this pattern but I am excited to make the blouse soon!
I made no adjustments to the pattern.
Fit true to the measurements on the envelope.

I bought this pattern from SloCrafty on Etsy.
Check out her shop.
Lots of great vintage patterns!

1 thought on “Sewing with Vintage Butterick Pattern 8024 and Vintage Simplicity Pattern 3486

  1. Kimberly Egeland October 30, 2011 — 7:14 pm

    Sooo cute! Really love the dress! The skirt is darling too! Great job!!!

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close