Pin-Up Crop Top


I was about to start the blue top I mentioned in a previous post when a remnant of this pin-up Alexander Henry fabric popped up at work!


We have a whole collection of Alexander Henry pin-up prints that I stare at, never quite sure what to do with them.
When I came home with this piece I dug through my patterns and found a vintage 60’s shirt pattern featuring 4 tops that take a yard or less of fabric to make!

I love to find notations from previous owners on old patterns.
Notice the design adjustments she made to the crop top.
Buttons down the front (cute!).
She also wrote her name on all of the pattern pieces.


The shirt was a quick and simple project.
However, I was not quite satisfied with the final product.
The base of the crop top was rather wide.
Seemed silly that I had to put in a side zipper when I could easily pull it on and off with it closed.
To tighten up the silhouette I added a set of darts to the front and back of the shirt.
So much more flattering!

This entry was posted in Fabric, Fashion, running amuck designs, Sewing, sewing patterns, vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

