Retro Inspired Holiday Dress

The owners of Mendel’s Far Out Fabrics liked my Halloween dress so much they asked me to make a holiday dress to display in the store.
(Luckily, I will get it back in time to wear for Christmas!)

The bodice is made with Kona Cotton and the skirt is wool (or wool blend? the bolt didn’t say…)

(Sorry for the dark/golden pictures.
I just finished it up tonight and it is going up in the store tomorrow.)


I have been obsessed with adding piping to everything.
Plus, it really helped make the cotton bodice look more tailored.

I also put hidden pockets in the skirt.

Lining up my hounds-tooth stripes 🙂

Oh, and this wool was a perfect excuse to put my serger to use!
I am loving how clean and flat all of my edges are.


Is anyone else making a festive dress/outfit for the holidays?

1 thought on “Retro Inspired Holiday Dress

  1. So pretty!! I love all the attention to detail in your work.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close